Tanzfabrik Berlin works as an internationally known centre for Contemporary Dance. It offers space for rehearsals, production, artistic and theoretic research, advanced training, further education, workshops and regular classes. Its main aim is to focus on development, presentation and agency of contemporary dance in all of its diversity of choreographic and performative approaches. This includes the promotion of young artists, the connection of theory and practice and international exchange.
 4 studios and an incorporated studio stage in Kreuzberg have accommodated continous artistic and educational practice. The studio stage offers an intimate character and ideal frame for the visualisation of artistic processes. The studios host choreographers, dancers, performers and amateurs and a diverse range of advanced education projects (regular dance classes, performance projects, professional contemporary training, intensive workshops and the 10 month dance intensive programme).
The Tanzfabrik cooperates with numerous other partners on a Berlin and international level. As a partner, we collaborate with the networks TanzRaumBerlin, Tanzcard and Zeitgenössischer Tanz Berlin e.V. to improve communication, information, networking, production, qualification and training in contemporary dance. In addition, the Tanzfabrik Berlin is a partner of the Uferstudio GmbH. In addition, Tanzfabrik Berlin has acted as an initiator and concept developer for the Inter-University Centre for Dance with the BA course in Contemporary Dance, Context, Choreography as part of the Tanzplan Deutschland initiative of the German Federal Cultural Foundation.

Since 2005 she has been an international partner institution in the European network apap - advancing performing arts projects. In 2020, the Tanzfabrik Berlin has received extensive funding as the main applicant for the next apap term. With the FEMINIST FUTURES project, apap will receive a continuation in the next four years, which will promote international cooperation between art and dance institutions from eleven countries of the European Union.